Faculty Series Lecture | Center for Leadership | Florida International University | FIU
Skip to Main Content

Faculty Series Lecture: David V. Day, Ph.D.

The Faculty Series was created to provide intimate venues that encourage faculty/student interaction. The Series invites accomplished faculty from other universities to share their research with an audience of FIU graduate students and faculty.



  • Date

    Friday, September 27, 2019


  • David V. Day, Ph.D.

    David V. Day is Professor of Psychology and Academic Director of the Kravis Leadership Institute at Claremont McKenna College. He also holds the titles of Steven L. Eggert ‘82 P’15 Professor of Leadership and George R. Roberts Research Fellow at the College. Prior to this appointment, he held the positions of Winthrop Professor and the inaugural Woodside Chair in Leadership and Management at the University of Western Australia Business School. Previous appointments include Professor of Organisational Behaviour (Singapore Management University), and Professor of Psychology (Penn State University and Louisiana State University).

    He is a Fellow of the American Psychological Association, American Psychological Society, International Association of Applied Psychology, and the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology. Professor Day has published more than 100 peer-reviewed journal articles, books, and book chapters, many pertaining to the core topics of leadership and leadership development. His research has been published in the Journal of Applied Psychology, Personnel Psychology, Journal of ManagementAcademy of Management Journal, Leadership Quarterly, among other journals. Professor Day serves on numerous editorial boards and as editor of The Leadership Quarterly Yearly Review.

    His article titled “Leadership Development: A Review in Context” received the 2010 Decennial Influential Article Award as the most influential article published in The Leadership Quarterly 2000. He also was awarded the Walter F. Ulmer Research Award from the Center for Creative Leadership in 2010 for outstanding, career-long contributions to applied leadership research.